Miss. Senators Join Bicameral Effort to Overturn Illegal Rule

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) joined more than 65 colleagues in introducing a bicameral joint resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to nullify an illegal U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) rule that provides abortion services through the taxpayer-funded VA health care system. 

The CRA (S.J.Res.10) gives Congress the authority to review major rules issued by federal agencies before they take effect. If Congress disapproves of a rule via resolution, the rule will have no force or effect under the law.

“Since taking office, President Biden has pushed his radical abortion-on-demand agenda, and this is just another gross abuse of power,” Wicker said.  “Using VA facilities for taxpayer-funded abortions shouldn’t even be on the table. I will continue to fight for our most vulnerable.”

“It is shameful and illegal that the Biden administration has turned taxpayer-funded VA hospitals into abortion centers,” Hyde-Smith said.  “We will hold the Biden administration accountable for this blatant violation of both federal and state laws, and its callous promotion of the brutal killing of unborn children.”

The VA published the interim final rule in September 2022, just a few months after the Supreme Court issued its decision to reverse Roe v. Wade and return the decision to legislate on abortion to legislators.  Not only does the rule set up VA medical facilities to violate state laws blatantly, but it is also in clear conflict with Section 106 of the Veterans Health Care Act of 1992, which explicitly prohibits the VA from providing abortion services.  Notably, the rule also extends abortion services to certain veterans’ dependents and fails to provide any conscious protections for VA medical staff.

U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.) and U.S. Representative Michael Cloud (R-Texas) introduced the resolution, which is endorsed by Susan B. Anthony Pro Life-America, March for Life, National Right to Life, Catholic Vote, Heritage Action, and Concerned Women for America Legislative Action Committee.
In addition to Wicker and Hyde-Smith, Senate cosponsors include U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and J.D. Vance (R-Ohio).
House cosponsors include U.S. Representatives Rick Allen (R-Ga.), Brian Babin (R-Texas), Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Mike Bost (R-Ill.), Kat Cammack (R-Fla.), Jerry Carl (R-Ala.), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Neal Dunn (R-Fla.), Jake Ellzey (R-Texas), Randy Feenstra (R-Iowa), Scott Franklin (R-Fla.), Russ Fulcher (R-Idaho), Bob Good (R-Va.), Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), Brett Guthrie (R-Ky.), Kevin Hern (R-Okla.), Ronny Jackson (R-Texas), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Jake LaTurner (R-Kan.), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Mo.), Tracey Mann (R-Kan.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa), John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), Andy Ogles (R-Tenn.), Bill Posey (R-Fla.), David Rouzer (R-N.C.), Matt Rosendale (R-Mont.), Chip Roy (R-Texas), John Rutherford (R-Fla.), Austin Scott (R-Ga.), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), Chris Smith (R-N.J.), Lloyd Smucker (R-Penn.), Claudia Tenney (R-N.Y.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), and Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio).