Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry

The Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry is empowered with legislative oversight of all matters relating to the nation's agriculture industry, farming programs, forestry and logging, and legislation relating to nutrition and health.  Senator Hyde-Smith serves on the Subcommittee on Commodities, Risk Management, and Trade (Ranking Member), the Subcommittee on Climate, Conservation, Forestry, and Natural Resources, and the Subcommittee on Livestock, Diary, Poultry, Competition, Local Food Systems, and Food Safety and Security..

Committee on Appropriations

The Committee on Appropriations is a standing committee of the U.S. Senate with jurisdiction over all discretionary spending legislation. Senator Hyde-Smith serves on the following appropriations subcommittees:  Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies; Energy and Water Development; Homeland Security; Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies; and Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies (Ranking Member).

Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

The Committee on Energy and Natural Resources has jurisdiction over a broad portfolio, including:  energy resources and development, including regulation, conservation, strategic petroleum reserves and appliance standards; nuclear energy; American Indian affairs; public lands and renewable resources; surface mining, federal coal, oil, and gas, other mineral leasing; territories and insular possessions; and water resources.  Senator Hyde-Smith serves on the Subcommittee on Energy and the Subcommittee on National Parks.

Committee on Rules and Administration

The Committee on Rules and Administration is one of the oldest committees of the United States Senate.  Its origins date back to the early days of the Republic when the first Senate convened in March 1789 and established a committee to prepare a system of rules for conducting business in the Senate. In 1867 in the aftermath of the Civil War and the reunification of our Union, the forerunner to our current committee was created, and a Committee on Rules has continued in the Senate to the present day.