Application Deadline is Oct. 12 for $10,000 Scholarship Program 
WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today encouraged Mississippi high school juniors and seniors to apply to be delegates to the 2019 U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP).
For the 57th year of the program, two students from Mississippi will receive an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., and a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship.
“The U.S. Senate Youth Program offers students from Mississippi a unique opportunity to meet other young leaders and engage with representatives from each of our branches of government,” Wicker said. “I encourage all eligible students to apply for this program.”
“Outgoing Mississippi students should apply for this respected program, which offers a chance to learn more about our democracy and earn a scholarship.  Our state sends some of its brightest to represent our state, and I have no doubt that we’ll carry on that tradition,” said Hyde-Smith, who has agreed to serve on the Senate Youth Program Advisory Committee.
The USSYP brings the highest-level officials from each branch of government to meet with high school juniors or seniors representing each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity during an intensive, week-long education and leadership program.  This year’s program will be held March 2–9, 2019.
Each delegate will receive a $10,000 undergraduate scholarship and are encouraged to pursue coursework in history and political science.  The program has been fully-funded since inception by The Hearst Foundations.
Interested students can visit http://www.ussenateyouth.org/ for more information.  The 2019 Official Program brochure and rules can be found here
The deadline to apply for the USSYP program in Mississippi is October 12, 2018. 
Applicants may also contact their high school principal or Mississippi’s state-level selection administrator:
Dr. Vernesia Wilson
(601) 359-2153
Mississippi’s 2018 USSYP delegates were Morgan Elise Atkins of Olive Branch and Noah Harris of Hattiesburg.