Tampa Free Press

Florida Sen. Rubio Urges DOJ Investigation After California Veteran Cemetery Vandalized By Pro-Hamas Supporters

bY Matt Rife

The men and women who serve in the U.S. military exemplify the best of America: sacrifice, determination, and bravery.

Last week, pro-Hamas supporters vandalized the Los Angeles National Cemetery, disrespecting veterans and violating federal law. 

“The Los Angeles National Cemetery is where our nation’s heroes are laid to rest, and any act of vandalism is unacceptable,” the cemetery stated on Facebook. “We are taking immediate steps to restore the Los Angeles National Cemetery sign to its original state, and we are working with law enforcement on their investigation.”

Read: Harvard Looks To Salvage Reputation In Meetings With Silicon Valley Executives

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) and colleagues sent a letter to U.S. Attorney General Merrick Garland urging him to investigate the pro-Hamas criminals for their disgraceful and illegal actions. 

“We write to urge the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to immediately prosecute pro-Hamas activists defacing national cemeteries run by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. On January 8, 2024, several media outlets reported that pro-Hamas extremists vandalized the Los Angeles National Cemetery, where more than 80,000 veterans are buried,” said the letter.

“The vandalism included the word “INTIFADA” spray-painted on the grounds of the cemetery. In addition, these activists also spray-painted the phrase “FREE GAZA,” as well as an upside-down red triangle – a symbol used by the Nazis in concentration camps to categorize and identify prisoners,” said Rubio.

“Pro-Hamas radicals and terrorist sympathizers must immediately face consequences for their immoral and illegal tactics. Therefore, we urge the DOJ to prosecute the pro-Hamas activists responsible for defacing the Los Angeles National Cemetery, given their clear violation of federal law,” said the letter in part,

Joining Rubio were Senators Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mike Braun (R-IN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Hoeven (R-ND), Jim Risch (R-ID), Ted Budd (R-NC), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Steve Daines (R-MT), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), and Susan Collins (R-ME).