Bipartisan Measure Reaffirms Support for Students Attending Historically Black Colleges and Universities 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today praised Senate passage of a bipartisan resolution they cosponsored that condemns threats of violence against Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and reaffirms support for the students at those institutions.

S.Res.534, which highlights the importance of the educational opportunities for HBCU students, lists schools threatened by bomb threats between Jan. 4, 2022 to Feb. 25, 2022, including Feb. 1 threats to Jackson State University, Alcorn State University, Mississippi Valley State University, Rust College, and Tougaloo College.

“Students and staff deserve to feel secure on their college campuses, but a recent surge in threats against HBCUs has created an environment of fear,” Wicker said.  “I am glad to join my colleagues in condemning these violent threats and reaffirming our commitment to giving these critical institutions the support they need.”

“These contemptible threats to schools in Mississippi and around the nation deserve condemnation and prosecution of those responsible.  This resolution reaffirms our commitment to preserving HBCUs as safe settings for students to pursue a quality education and opportunities to succeed,” Hyde-Smith said. 

The measure states “these threats against HBCUs disrupt campus environments, obstruct educational opportunities, and instill fear.” 

U.S. Senators Tim Scott (R-S.C.) and Chris Coons (D-Del.) introduced S.Res.534.  In addition to Wicker and Hyde-Smith, it was also cosponsored by Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.).

Click here to read the resolution.