Miss. Senators Cosponsor Resolution to Overturn New Education Dept. Rule 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) recently cosponsored legislation to nullify the Biden administration’s new rule to impose federal, one-size-fits-all requirements on charter schools that seek federal funding.

The Mississippi lawmakers are original cosponsors of Congressional Review Act (CRA) legislation (S.J.Res.60), which would stop a U.S. Department of Education final rule that violates congressional intent for supporting charter schools.

“Educational freedom has helped millions of Americans build better and more prosperous lives,” Wicker said.  “President Biden’s proposed rule targeting charter schools would restrict that freedom, and I am glad to join Senator Hyde-Smith in opposing its implementation.”

“The Biden administration’s wholehearted embrace of teacher unions shouldn’t result in rules that hogtie charter schools and the choices they offer parents and students.  Unfortunately, that’s just what the Education Department’s new rule does,” Hyde-Smith said.  “I hope a majority of Senators agree that the administration exceeded its authority and overturn this harmful rule.”

S.J.Res.60 is based on the fact that the Secretary of Education exceeded his authority and violated congressional intent by making substantial changes to the 28-year-old, bipartisan Charter School Program (CSP).  The new rule includes a broad range of federal mandates intended to restrict the growth of charter schools around the country.

Among other things, the new rule would force charter schools to co-develop curriculum with traditional public school bureaucracies.  In addition, charter schools applying for federal grants would be required to conduct a federally-micromanaged “needs analysis” that requires schools to provide a description of projected demographics to ensure student body and staff diversity.

Congress can consider S.J.Res.60 using expedited procedures under the CRA and pass it by a simple majority vote.

U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) introduced S.J.Res.60, which is also cosponsored by Senators Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), and Ted Cruz (R-Texas).