WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today announced their support for legislation to prohibit taxpayer-funded abortions for illegal immigrants.

The No Taxpayer Funds for Illegal Alien Abortions Act (S.4770) would prohibit any employee or contractor with U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) or the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) from transporting illegal immigrants across state lines for the purpose of procuring an abortion.

“Abortion is wrong, and American taxpayers should never have to pay for it, whether for citizens or illegal immigrants,” Wicker said.  “I am proud to stand with my fellow pro-life legislators to protect the sanctity of all human life.”

“The Biden administration’s willingness to act outside the law makes this legislation necessary.  The Hyde Amendment restricts the use of taxpayer dollars to fund abortions.  Whether it be ICE personnel or any other executive branch employee, spending American tax dollars to escort illegal immigrants across state lines for abortions is a clear violation of the law.  It must be stopped,” Hyde-Smith said.

U.S. Senator Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.) introduced the legislation in response to an internal ICE memo stating any pregnant illegal alien in its custody will continue to have access to abortion services.

S.4770 would also prohibit ICE or HHS to require any person to perform, facilitate, or pay for an abortion except to save the life of the mother or in the case of rape or incest.

“No Americans’ tax dollars should pay for any illegal migrant’s abortion, just like they should not pay for any American citizen’s abortion.  Deportations are the only form of government-funded travel ICE and HHS should be providing to illegal immigrants,” said Marshall.  “We’ve seen President Biden and his cabinet secretaries repeatedly abuse their power to enact a radical agenda that is failing our country.  The deterioration of our country will not stop unless Congress acts to put a check on this far left administration”

Organizations that advocate for pro-life causes, including the Family Research Council and Susan B. Anthony Pro-Life America, endorse the legislation, which is also cosponsored by Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), and Rick Scott (R-Fla.).

Access the text of S.4770 here.