The Comanche (Texas) Chief

Sens. Cruz, Scott, Rep. Moolenaar Lead National School Choice Week Resolution

Jan. 30, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) joined the co-chairs of the Congressional School Choice Caucus, Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.) and Rep. John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), in introducing a resolution designating January 21st – January 27th, 2024, as National School Choice Week.

Upon joining the resolution, Sen. Cruz said, “For over a decade, I have been the leading advocate for school choice in the U.S. Senate because I firmly believe that school choice is the civil-rights issue of the 21st Century. Every single child deserves access to an exceptional education regardless of their zip code, race, ethnicity, or socio-economic status. I will continue to stand up for our students in Texas and across the country because building a stronger America starts in our K-12 classrooms.”

Cosponsors include U.S. Sens. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Cornyn (R-Texas) and Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.).

The companion House resolution has 50 cosponsors.

Read full text of the resolution here.