Amicus Brief Filed as High Court Weighs DOJ Emergency Appeal in Alliance for Hippocratic Medicine v. FDA 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) and U.S. Representative August Pfluger (R-Texas-11) today led 23 U.S. Senators and 124 U.S. Representatives in filing an amicus brief urging the U.S. Supreme Court to deny the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) emergency appeal of federal court rulings on the improper approval and deregulation of chemical abortion drugs by the Federal Drug Administration (FDA).

The updated brief filed Tuesday is similar to the briefs filed by Members in Alliance for Hippocratic Medicine v. FDA at the district and circuit court levels, but with updates in light of the Fifth Circuit’s ruling.  Americans United for Life authored the briefs.

“The FDA’s unlawful deregulation of chemical abortion drugs subverts Congress’ public policy considerations and safeguards for patient safety.  Amici respectfully urge this Court to deny the application for a stay of the District Court’s order because the FDA exceeded the scope of its authorized power, and endangered the health and safety of women and girls seeking chemical abortion drugs,” the lawmakers’ brief concludes.

The Supreme Court brief argues that emergency appeals by DOJ and Danco Laboratories, LLC should be denied because:

  • The FDA failure to adhere to the FFDCA drug approval process has created grave risks to the health and safety of women and girls.
  • The FDA endangers pregnant adolescents seeking chemical abortion drugs by unlawfully subverting the pediatric study requirement.
  • The FDA has created serious hazards for women’s health and safety by permitting mail-order chemical abortion drugs in violation of federal law.

In response to the emergency appeals, the Supreme Court issued an administrative stay of the district court’s order in Alliance for Hippocratic Medicine v. FDA, as partially stayed by the Fifth Circuit, until 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, April 19.

In addition to Hyde-Smith, chair of the Senate Pro-Life Caucus, the amicus brief was signed by U.S. Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

In addition to Pfluger, the brief was also signed by U.S. Representatives Robert Aderholt (Ala.-04). Mark Alford (Mo.-04), Rick Allen (Ga.-12), Jodey Arrington (Texas-19), Brian Babin (Texas-36), Troy Balderson (Ohio-12), Jim Banks (Ind.-03), Aaron Bean (Fla.-04), Cliff Bentz (Ore.-02), Jack Bergman (Mich.-01), Andy Biggs (Ariz.-05), Gus Bilirakis (Fla.-12), Dan Bishop (N.C.-08), Lauren Boebert (Colo.-03), Mike Bost (Ill.-12), Josh Brecheen (Okla.-02), Ken Buck (Colo.-04), Tim Burchett (Tenn.-02), Michael Burgess, M.D. (Texas-26), Eric Burlison (Mo.-07), Kat Cammack (Fla.-03), Mike Carey (Ohio-15), Jerry Carl (Ala.-01), Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (Ga.-01), John Carter (Texas-31), Ben Cline (Va.-06), Michael Cloud (Texas-27), Andrew Clyde (Ga.-09), Mike Collins (Ga.-10), Elijah Crane (Ariz.-02), Eric A. “Rick Crawford (Ariz.-01), John Curtis (Utah-03), Warren Davidson (Ohio-08), Monica De La Cruz (Texas-15), Jeff Duncan (S.C.-03), Jake Ellzey (Texas-06), Ron Estes (Kan.-04), Mike Ezell (Miss.-04), Pat Fallon (Texas-04), Randy Feenstra (Iowa-04), Brad Finstad (Minn.-01), Michelle Fischbach (Minn.-07), Scott Fitzgerald (Wis.-05), Mike Flood (Neb.-01), Virginia Foxx (N.C.-05), Scott Franklin (Fla.-18), Russell Fry (S.C.-07), Russ Fulcher (Idaho-01), Tony Gonzales (Texas-23), Bob Good (Va.-05), Paul Gosar (Ariz.-09), Garrett Graves (La.-08), Mark Green (Tenn.-07), Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.-14), H. Morgan Griffith (Va.-09), Glenn Grothman (Wis.-06), Michael Guest (Miss.-03), Harriet Hageman (Wyo.), Andy Harris, M.D. (Md.-01), Diana Harshbarger (Tenn.-01), Kevin Hern (Okla.-01), Clay Higgins (La.-03), Ashley Hinson (Iowa-02), Erin Houchin (Ind.-02), Richard Hudson (N.C.-09), Bill Huizenga (Mich.-04), Bill Johnson (Ohio-06), Mike Johnson (La.-04), Jim Jordan (Ohio-04), Mike Kelly (Pa.-16), Trent Kelly (Miss.-01), Doug LaMalfa (Calif.-01), Doug Lamborn (Colo.-05), Nicholas Langworthy (N.Y.-23), Jake LaTurner (Kan.-02), Debbie Lesko (Ariz.-08), Barry Loudermilk (Ga.-11), Blaine Luetkemeyer (Mo.-03), Tracey Mann (Kan.-01), Lisa McClain (Mich.-09), Dr. Rich McCormick (Ga.-06), Patrick McHenry (N.C.-10), Carol Miller (W.Va.-01), Mary Miller (Ill.-15), Max Miller (Ohio-07), Cory Mills (Fla.-07), John Moolenar (Mich.-02), Alex X. Mooney (W.Va.-02), Barry Moore (Ala.-02), Blake Moore (Utah-01), Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. (N.C.-03), Troy Nehls (Texas-22), Ralph Norman (S.C.-05), Andy Ogles (Tenn.-05), Gary Palmer (Ala.-06), Bill Posey (Fla.08), Guy Reschenthaler (Pa.-14), Mike Rogers (Ala.-03), John Rose (Tenn.-06), Matthew Rosendale, Sr. (Mont.-02), David Rouzer (N.C.-07), Steve Scalise (La.-01), Keith Self (Texas-03), Pete Sessions (Texas-17), Adrian Smith (Neb.-03), Christopher H. Smith (N.J.-04), Lloyd Smucker (Pa.-11), Pete Stauber (N.Y.-21), Elise Stefanik (N.Y.-12), Dale Strong (Ala.-05), Claudia Tenney (N.Y.-24), Glenn Thompson (Pa.-15), William Timmons, IV (S.C.-04), Beth Van Duyne (Texas-24), Tim Walberg (Mich.-05), Michael Waltz (Fla.-05), Randy Weber (Texas-14), Daniel Webster (Fla.-11), Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. (Ohio-02), Bruce Westerman (Ariz.-04), Roger Williams (Texas-25), Joe Wilson (S.C.-02), and Rudy Yakym (Ind.-02).

The brief is also supported by House Appropriations Committee Chair Kay Granger (Texas-12) and House Energy and Commerce Committee Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.-05).

Organizations supporting the Supreme Court brief include SBA Pro-Life America, National Right to Life, Family Research Council, Students for Life, Catholic Vote, Concerned Women for America LAC, Ethics and Public Policy Center, Family Policy Alliance, March for Life, Heritage Action, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops Committee on Pro-Life Activities.