Rolla (Mo.) Daily News

Blunt cosponsors bill to make it easier for military spouses to work in new states as they move

The Rolla Daily News - Rolla, MO

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (Mo.) today announced that he has cosponsored the Military Spouse Licensing Relief Act. The legislation would give military spouses with valid professional licenses in one state reciprocity in the state where their spouse is currently serving on military orders.

“Licensing requirements are a burden on anyone moving to another state, but they are especially difficult for military spouses who may have to go through the process every couple of years,” said Blunt. “For someone to spend six months getting certified to do a job they may hold for only another year and a half is unrealistic. I’m proud that Missouri has been a national leader when it comes to making it easier for military spouses to quickly transition their jobs to our state, and I’d like to see the same progress on the federal level. This commonsense legislation isn’t just the right thing to do for military spouses, it’s the smart thing to do for the economy and all of the employers that will benefit from the skills and experience these spouses bring to the job.”

As Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies, Blunt worked to include increased resources for the Veterans Employment and Training (VETS) program in the FY2020 government funding bill to assist military spouses in addressing occupational and credentialing barriers.

Blunt’s Military Family Stability Act, which was signed into law in 2017, also aimed to make it easier for military spouses to pursue their career or education by allowing them to either move early or remain at their current duty station for up to six months while their spouse begins a new assignment.

The Military Spouse Licensing Relief Act was introduced by Sen. Mike Lee (Utah) and, in addition to Blunt, is cosponsored by Sens. Tom Cotton (Ark.), Dianne Feinstein (Calif.), Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), Martha McSally (Ariz.), John Boozman (Ark.), Ted Cruz (TX), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Kevin Cramer (Nev.), Steve Daines (Mont.), Kelly Loeffler (Ga.), Joni Ernst (Iowa), James Risch (Idaho), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), John Barrasso (Wyo.), Mike Braun (Ind.), Mitt Romney (Utah), John Cornyn (Texas), John Thune (S.D.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), John Hoeven (N.D.), and Thom Tillis (N.C.).