## United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

March 28, 2022

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken,

With the return of the United States to the UN Human Rights Council, we think it is time for the American presence on the Council to be used to address major human rights problems around the world. An important step in this regard would be to redirect the wasteful use of funds and personnel on excessive devotion to disparaging Israel to allow the UN Human Rights Council to fairly promote human rights around the world.

We write to urge you to prioritize reversing the UN Human Rights Council's (UNHRC) discriminatory and unwarranted treatment of Israel by leading a multinational effort in the Council and in the UN to end the permanent Commission of Inquiry (COI) on the Israeli Palestinian conflict.

In May 2021, just days after the conflict between the Gaza-based terrorist organization Hamas and Israel, the UNHRC approved an unprecedented open-ended investigation of Israel's treatment of Palestinians, purported war crimes and human rights violations. This Commission will not only focus on the actions Israel took in Gaza as it sought to defend its citizens, it will also have a carte blanche mandate – in perpetuity – to examine any period in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict about violations not only in the West Bank and Gaza, but also within Israel's pre-1967 borders. The mandate made no mention of the 4,300 lethal rockets fired by Hamas toward Israeli civilians in a matter of days and no mention of Israel's right to defend itself.

This one-sided approach is consistent with UNHRC's continuing bias against Israel and the disproportionate use of resources in an ongoing campaign to disparage, discredit and denounce Israel. Its Agenda Item VII is the only country-specific permanent item on the Council's agenda. The COI will now operate with an annual budget of over \$4 million and a permanent staff of 18, which represents considerable resources devoted to maligning and ultimately prosecuting Israel. Of the thirty-two UNHRC mandated investigative probes, nine have been against Israel. By comparison, the investigation of North Korea's violations of the human rights of its people had half the staff and lasted for only a year. Additionally, egregious human rights violations such as the treatment of the Uyghurs in China are not addressed by the UNHRC at all.

We appreciate your commitment to put the Council's "disproportionate focus on Israel" at the top of the Biden Administration's agenda for reforming the Council when the U.S. announced it would seek to rejoin the UNHRC, as well as your commitment to "continue to uphold our strong commitment to Israel and its security, including by opposing actions that seek to target Israel

unfairly." Delegitimizing and ultimately eliminating this permanent commission is an opportunity for the administration to fulfill U.S. Ambassador Patrick Kennedy's pledge to the Council that "the U.S. stands with Israel in rejecting the unprecedented open-ended mandate of this Commission of Inquiry, which perpetuates a practice of unfairly singling out Israel in the U.N."

By unfairly singling out Israel, the UNHRC undermines its credibility to investigate human rights violations around the world.

The COI is the latest endeavor by UNHRC to discredit the only Jewish state and is likely to further fuel antisemitism worldwide. Therefore, we urge you to act upon the Administration's commitment to defend Israel from discriminatory treatment at the Human Rights Council and throughout the UN system. We also urge the U.S. to firmly raise its voice and concerns during the current UNHRC session, the first meeting in several years in which the United States will be a member of the council.

We thank you in advance for your attention to this matter and look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Rob Portman
United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

James E. Risch
United States Senator

Patrick Leahy

**United States Senator** 

John Thune

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons

**United States Senator** 

Cory A. Booker

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

**United States Senator** 

derry Moran

Jerry Moran

**United States Senator** 

Charles E. Grassley
United States Senator

Susan M. Collins
United States Senator

John Bo

United States Senator

Ben Sasse

**United States Senator** 

Ron Wyden

Margaret Wood Hassan
United States Senator

Michael Blumenthal

United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema
United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth
United States Senator

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters

United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein

United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Patty Murray

United States Senator

J<mark>o</mark>ni K. Ernst

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

John Cornyn

**United States Senator** 

Sheldon Whitehouse

**United States Senator** 

Tim Scott

Joe Manchin III
United States Senator

United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator Marco Rubio United States Senator

Tim Kaine

**United States Senator** 

Mike Braun

United States Senator

Mark R. Warner

United States Senator

Rick Scott

**United States Senator** 

John Hickenlooper

United States Senator

Mark Keny

Set Suder

Deb Fischer United States Senator Maria Cantwell United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Roger W. Marshall United States Senator

John Kennedy
United States Senator

Michael S. Lee United States Senator Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Panne Shaheen

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar
United States Senator

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator

Lindsey Graham

United States Senator

Roger F. Wicker

United States Senator

Jon/Tester

United States Senator

Todd Young

United States Senator

Roy Blunt

United States Senator

Pat Toomey

United States Senator

Josh Hawley

United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville

Michael D. Crapo

United States Senator

John Hoeven