Cindy Hyde-Smith

United States Senator for Mississippi


You are here



Miss. Senators Applaud FEMA Grants for Fire Departments

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today announced the award of $3,175,628 in Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) grants to fire departments in throughout Mississippi.

The grants are being awarded as part of the Fiscal Year 2017 Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Program to departments in Byram, Greenwood, Metcalfe, Grenada, Jackson, Yazoo City, Arcola, Pelahatchie, Walnut, Booneville, Pope, Morton, and Natchez.

“With support for additional personnel, new trucks, safety equipment, and training, this latest round of FEMA grants represents an important step forward for Mississippi fire departments across our state,” Wicker said. “I would encourage more of our fire departments to reach out to my office for assistance in applying for the next round of competitive federal grants.”

“Public safety and emergency preparedness is essential.  These grant awards will not only help equip and train firefighters, they will also promote fire prevention and safety in these communities,” Hyde-Smith said.

The grants were awarded following a competitive process and include support for the following projects:

  • Byram Fire Department, Byram – $ 1,575,369 to hire at least six firefighters
  • Leflore County Fire Department, Greenwood – $382,546 to purchase 60 Self-Contained Breathing Apparatuses (SCBA) and 32 additional face masks
  • Metcalfe Volunteer Fire Department, Metcalfe – $264,762 to assist with the purchase of a new tanker truck
  • Grenada Fire Department, Grenada – $258,004 to hire additional firefighters
  • Mississippi Department of Insurance and State Fire Marshal's Office, Jackson – $243,150 to support fire prevention activities
  • Yazoo County Fire Association, Yazoo City – $152,774 to upgrade pumper and tanker equipment and to develop a tanker strike force for events requiring a continuous water supply
  • Arcola Fire Department, Arcola – $92,286 to purchase eight SCBAs, six face masks, and 14 complete sets of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
  • Walters Volunteer Fire Department, Pelahatchie – $61,810 to purchase 22 complete sets of PPEs
  • Threeforks Volunteer Fire Department, Walnut – $48,286 to purchase eight SCBAs and two face masks
  • Wheeler-Frankstown Volunteer Fire Department, Booneville – $45,715 to support operations and safety upgrades
  • Pope Volunteer Fire Department, Pope – $33,334 to support operations and safety upgrades
  • Morton Volunteer Fire Department, Morton – $11,429 to purchase operations and safety equipment
  • Adams County Board of Supervisors, Natchez – $6,163 to support operations and safety upgrades

For additional information on the FY 2017 AFG program, visit its web site here.



Washington, D.C. Office

702 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-2405
Phone: (202) 224-5054
Fax: (202) 224-5321

State Offices

Jackson Office
190 East Capitol St., #550
Jackson, MS  39201
Phone (601) 965-4459
Fax (601) 965-4919

Gulfport Office
2012 15th Street, #451
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone (228) 867-9710
Fax (228) 867-9789

State Offices

911 Jackson Ave., #249
Oxford, MS  38655
Phone (662) 236-1018
Fax (662) 236-7618