Cindy Hyde-Smith

United States Senator for Mississippi

Sen. Wicker named chairman of commerce committee; Sen. Hyde-Smith expands assignments

You are here

WLOX-TV Biloxi
Sen. Wicker named chairman of commerce committee; Sen. Hyde-Smith expands assignments
By Annie Johnson 
MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - U.S. Senator Roger Wicker was named Chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation Wednesday. As chairman, Wicker will have broad authority over legislation that will impact Mississippi’s future economic prosperity and safety.
"I thank my colleagues for their support in electing me chairman of the Commerce Committee,” said Wicker. “I would also like to thank Sen. John Thune, the committee’s former chairman, for his exemplary leadership these past four years. The chairmanship is a great responsibility given the committee’s broad jurisdiction across diverse sectors of our economy. I look forward to serving alongside our new ranking member, Sen. Maria Cantwell, and my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to build on the committee’s successes and continue moving our economy forward.
Senator Roger Wicker
Sen. Wicker will have authority over legislation that can benefit Mississippi such as:
•   Upgrading our transportation networks;
•   Expanding high-speed internet and communications service to rural areas;
•   Protecting consumer data and privacy;
•   Improving fisheries and oceans management on the Gulf Coast;
•   Advancing science, technology, and engineering research in our state’s universities and at NASA and NOAA; and
•   Enhancing our national security through continued support for the Coast Guard.
Sen. Wicker has been representing the state of Mississippi since December 2007.
For a full description of the committee’s jurisdiction, visit here
U.S. Senator Cindy-Hyde Smith also expanded her committee assignments.
Hyde-Smith maintained her memberships on the Senate Committee on Appropriations, the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, and the Committee on Rules and Administration. She has also joined the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.
“I will use these committee assignments to capitalize on every opportunity to improve Mississippi and our country,” Hyde-Smith said. “I am honored to have the opportunity to continue the important work and long-standing representation of Mississippi on the Appropriations and Agriculture Committees.”
As part of the organization of the Appropriations Committee, Hyde-Smith was named chairman of the Legislative Branch Subcommittee which has jurisdiction over operations and security of the U.S. Capitol, Congress, and support agencies such as the Congressional Budget Office and Government Accountability Office.
The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee has oversight and legislative jurisdiction for national energy policy; federal lands, forests and mining; the National Park system and wildlife refuges;

Washington, D.C. Office

702 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-2405
Phone: (202) 224-5054
Fax: (202) 224-5321

State Offices

Jackson Office
190 East Capitol St., #550
Jackson, MS  39201
Phone (601) 965-4459
Fax (601) 965-4919

Gulfport Office
2012 15th Street, #451
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone (228) 867-9710
Fax (228) 867-9789

State Offices

911 Jackson Ave., #249
Oxford, MS  38655
Phone (662) 236-1018
Fax (662) 236-7618