Cindy Hyde-Smith

United States Senator for Mississippi


You are here



WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today signed as an original cosponsor of legislation to allow law-abiding citizens with concealed carry privileges to take firearms across state lines.

Hyde-Smith has added her support to the Constitutional Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act (S.69), which would allow qualified individuals to carry a concealed handgun into another state in accordance with that state’s laws.  Concealed carry permits are not transferrable between states under current law.  The bill was authored by U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas).

“This legislation would honor the rights of law-abiding gun owners with concealed carry permits in other states with right-to-carry laws,” Hyde-Smith said.  “This practical, pro-Second Amendment legislation recognizes states’ authority to issue firearms licenses and permits, while supporting the rights of gun owners.”

In addition to Hyde-Smith and Senator Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), other original cosponsors of the Cornyn bill include:  John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Dan Sullivan (R-Ark.), John Thune (R-S.D.), and Thom Tillis (R-NC).

Hyde-Smith cosponsored identical Cornyn legislation last year.

A one-page summary of the bill is available here:




Washington, D.C. Office

702 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-2405
Phone: (202) 224-5054
Fax: (202) 224-5321

State Offices

Jackson Office
190 East Capitol St., #550
Jackson, MS  39201
Phone (601) 965-4459
Fax (601) 965-4919

Gulfport Office
2012 15th Street, #451
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone (228) 867-9710
Fax (228) 867-9789

State Offices

911 Jackson Ave., #249
Oxford, MS  38655
Phone (662) 236-1018
Fax (662) 236-7618