Cindy Hyde-Smith

United States Senator for Mississippi

Committee Assignments

You are here

Committee Assignments

The United States Senate Committee on Appropriations is a standing committee of the United States Senate.  It has jurisdiction over all discretionary spending legislation in the Senate. Senator Hyde-Smith serves on the following appropriations subcommittees:  Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies; Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies; Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies; Legislative Branch; and State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs.
The Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry is a committee of the United States Senate empowered with legislative oversight of all matters relating to the nation's agriculture industry, farming programs, forestry and logging, and legislation relating to nutrition and health.  Senator Hyde-Smith has been assigned to serve on the Subcommittee on Commodities, Risk Management, and Trade, the Subcommittee on Rural Development and Energy, and the Subcommittee on Conservation, Forestry, and Natural Resources.


The Rules Committee is one of the oldest committees of the United States Senate.  Our origins date back to the early days of the Republic when the first Senate convened in March 1789 and established a committee to prepare a system of rules for conducting business in the Senate. In 1867 in the aftermath of the Civil War and the reunification of our Union, the forerunner to our current committee was created, and a Committee on Rules has continued in the Senate to the present day.


Washington, D.C. Office

113 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-5054
Fax: (202) 224-5321

State Offices

Jackson Office
190 East Capitol St., #550
Jackson, MS  39201
Phone (601) 965-4459
Fax (601) 965-4919

Gulfport Office
2012 15th Street, #451
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone (228) 867-9710
Fax (228) 867-9789

State Offices

911 Jackson Ave., #249
Oxford, MS  38655
Phone (662) 236-1018
Fax (662) 236-7618